Hello again!

So, as part of my new dedication to being consistent in my writing professionally, I have also decided to begin to blog daily. Keep those ol’ wheels turning, and all that. But it isn’t easy to write every day. Well, according to Ernest Hemingway, “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

!!!

So to kickstart things, I’m going to take a cue from Jason Hirschhorn of MediaREDEF and begin by drawing attention to things that have drawn my attention. I’m on the internet all the time, anyway (all. the. time…. O.o) so I might as well let that be my inspiration! There are a lot of interesting things I come across everyday – new music, great writing, things that make me think, amazing, new-to-me facts, and of course, being zee interwebz, all around silliness. So now, I will bring that all to you. You’re welcome. 🙂

I was going to try and break the content into categories based on titles, but with the sheer variety of stuff I expect to put up here, that’s going to get old real quick. So I’ll just start by listing, in no specific order, the things that have lately made me go, “Huh…”

1. RECORD/PLAY Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 7.42.20 AM

I found this short film on ShortoftheWeek.com, which I’ve already written about in the past. It is a transcendent 11-minute sci-fi love story involving war, fate, time travel, and a broken walkman. It’s incredible. Watch it.

2. A photographer documents her body changing through pregnancy…

© Sophie Starzenski

And it’s beautiful. Because when you create a tiny human in your body, um, it’s bound to change! A nice reminder that having a baby doesn’t “ruin” your body simply because it doesn’t look celebrity-perfect two days later. (Unless it does, in which case…kudos on the gene selection!)

3. Charlie Chaplin Was a Hottie at 27

charlie chaplin 27

…and 39 other sometimes hilarious, sometimes poignant historical photographs uncovered by demilked.com

4. Legendary photographer William Klein’s tips on street photography, via Eric Kim

© William Klein

© William Klein

It’s great to see some of the ways to improve my street photography, like getting up close and personal with my subjects (eek! there’s a reason I hide behind my camera!) and allowing myself to experiment fully with different styles. William Klein famously disregarded the classic street style standards set by the also über-famous photography legend Henri Cartier-Bresson, preferring to use a wide-angle lens to get as much imagery into the frame as possible, distortion be damned. He also liked to swear a lot. (Hey, he was from Brooklyn.)

For anyone who’s interested, here’s a great little clip of William Klein looking over his contact sheets, where he really talks about his process and what goes into his choosing of one photograph over another.

 

And that’s all for today, peeps! See you tomorrow 🙂

